Baskerville Hall Hotel
ClyroHR3 5LE
(01497) 820003
Opening times: Mon–Sun 11:00-23:00
Regular beers:
Wye Valley Bitter, Wye Valley Butty Bach
See more about this pub on WhatPub, CAMRA's national pub guide.
Known locally as Clyro Court, this establishment is more like a hotel, with hotel hours. A guest beer is served, usually from a local source. It serves its guests and clientele taking part in various outdoor activities. There is a 4x4 course nearby. It is also well known for its regular disco. It was built in 1839 by Thomas Baskerville. Sir Arthur Conan Doyle visited the place and heard the local legend about the ghost of Black Vaughan of Hergest Court and his demon dog in the 15th century and it became the basis for the famous story of the Hound of the Baskervilles. The building became a school in the 1940s, then a hotel and health farm.